Skip Navigation

Phyllis Gilbreth Excellence in Teaching Award Nomination 

You have the opportunity to assist in the selection of the Teacher of the Year at Abilene Christian School.  Nominations will be accepted from parents, students, teachers, staff, administrators and members of the Board of Trustees.  A committee comprised of school administrators, Phyllis Gilbreth, and the previous year’s recipient will choose a winner from the submitted nominations.  The award winner will be announced at the Faculty/Staff Dinner.


  • Creates a Christ-centered environment in the classroom
  • Demonstrates excellence in classroom teaching during the current school year
  • Models Christ-like behavior to students, parents, and our community
  • Demonstrates innovative and creative teaching strategies
  • Demonstrates the ability to foster a spirit of inquiry
  • Inspires a love of learning in students of all backgrounds and abilities
  • Has the respect and admiration of students, parents and colleagues
  • Encourages students to achieve their goals
  • Promotes school spirit
  • Nominee must not have received this award the preceding year nor more than twice in five years.

Winner receives a plaque and $500 stipend.

Previous Winners 



Phyllis Gilbreth 


Lyndsey Steffek 


Kay Robbins 



Kelli Allen 


Dixie Mabry   


Leigh Thomas


Debbie Smith


Laura Ice


Cason Pyle

Thank you for your nomination of the 2024 Teacher of the Year.  Nominations are now closed.


The winner will be announced in May.


Phyllis Gillbreth Excellence in Teaching Award Nomination Form